Orange County Defensive Driving
If you've recently received a ticket in Orange County, whether in Orange, Vidor, or another city, you may be able to have it dismissed by taking a defensive driving course (which is also referred to as a driving safety course). Here's what you need to know and how to start the process:
First, make sure you are eligible to have the ticket dismissed. It is up to the Orange County Court to determine whether you can take a defensive driving course/driver safety course to dismiss the ticket. You must contact the Court to ask if your ticket is eligible for dismissal. If the court approves you to take a course, you are eligible to take our 100% online, easy and simple Texas Defensive Driving course.
If you have not taken a defensive driving course in the last twelve months, you may wish to take a course to keep the offense off your record. In Orange County, the following criteria must apply for ticket dismissal eligibility. You are not allowed to take defensive driving for some offenses, including but not limited to:
- Speeding more than 24 mph over the limit
- Passing a school bus
- Fleeing a police officer
- Certain other offenses
You must receive permission from the Orange County Court to complete the course. If the Department of Public Safety refuses to allow you to take a defensive driving course because your record reflects you have had one within the last twelve months, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. The traffic offense will be dismissed if you take the course and present proof to the Court. To apply for defensive driving, you must do the following:
- Submit fund to the Orange County Court via a money order or pay by credit card
- Call the Orange County Justice of the Peace and get the correct amount
- Submit the money, Defensive Driving Affidavit and proof of insurance to the Court in person or by mail. The insurance must have the phone number, name of your insurance company, and effective dates
The course must be state-approved. You are responsible for making sure the course is completed and that the Court receives proof via a Certificate of Completion from the defensive driving course provider. If the Court has not received proof of a defensive driving course within the time prescribed by law, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and fees will be assessed.
Second, register for our Texas Defensive Driving course. Make sure it is the person who got the traffic ticket that registers, not another family member or friend, as this will also be the name on the Certificate of Completion.
Third, order your Certified Texas Driving Record, which all Texas courts will require in addition to your Certificate of Completion.
Once you've registered, you can begin the Texas Defensive Driving course. Log in and out as much as you like, the test will pick back up where you left off, however the course must be completed within three months of registering. The course is user-friendly and section quizzes can be taken multiple times. The American Safety Council also provides 24/7 customer assistance via live chat and email.
After you've completed the easy and painless course, we will process your Certificate of Completion. The certificate will be available for download in your account within 7 days of graduation. Expedited mailed options are also available during checkout. If an expedited mailed option is selected, it is very important that you provide a valid address. Failure to do so can result in your ticket not getting dismissed, even if you have completed the course.
Once you have received both the Certificate of Completion and your Certified Texas Driving Record, submit them to the Orange County Court, per their instruction.