How Long Is the Texas Written Driving Test?

The Texas written driving test is split into two, 30-minute sections, totaling one hour of material. Each section contains 15 multiple-choice questions regarding highway signs and traffic laws. Students can complete the written exam online or at a drivers license office. They are required to pass the exam with a minimum score of 70% and are allowed up to three attempts before being required to repurchase the exam.

Teens between 14 and 17 years old are eligible to take online drivers education in order to earn their learner license or learner’s permit. Drivers education courses can help you stay on track, learn the rules of the road and take your permit test — all 100% online and at your own pace.

Complete a Drivers Ed Course

You must pass the permit test to earn your learner license. Our parent-taught and self-taught drivers ed courses allow you to take the written permit test online, which saves you a trip to the DPS. Drivers must complete drivers ed and earn a permit before they can apply for their drivers license.

Parent-Taught Drivers Ed

Individuals 14 to 17 years old are eligible for Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Ed, a 100% online course where you can work with your parent or guardian to learn the rules of the road. You can start the course at 14, but you must be 15 to apply for a learner license.

The online drivers ed course includes the state-required minimum of 32 hours of instruction. You must complete the first six-hour module in order to be eligible to take the learner license exam.

Self-Taught Drivers Ed

The self-taught drivers ed course is 100% online, and you don’t need a parent or guardian present to take the course. Teens aged 15 to 17 can take the online learner’s permit test as soon as they complete Module 1 of the course, which takes about six hours. You can begin your training as soon as you register and can work at your own pace.

Both online drivers ed courses allow you to prepare for the learner's permit test on your own time, making it simple to meet all your permit requirements. These courses are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).

For questions regarding either of the courses, applying for a learner’s permit or general information, visit Teen Drivers Ed FAQs.

Online Permit Exam

The online permit exam is included in both the parent- and self-taught online drivers ed courses. The permit exam is made up of two parts: the Highway Sign Examination and the Traffic Laws Examination. The exam reviews the rules of the road, highway signs, seat belt laws and more, guiding you toward earning your drivers license.

Highway Signs Examination

  • Minimum Passing Score: 70%
  • Number of attempts allowed: 3
  • Number of questions: 15
  • Time limit: 30 minutes

Traffic Laws Examination

  • Minimum Passing Score: 70%
  • Number of attempts allowed: 3
  • Number of questions: 15
  • Time limit: 30 minutes

To obtain a learner’s permit in Texas, you must:

  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Pass the classroom portion of the Texas driver’s education course
  • Pass the permit examination

If you fail either of the two examinations, you must wait 24 hours before you can take the exam again. You can’t continue the rest of the course without passing the exam and having proof of earning your learner’s permit. You need your learner’s permit before you can apply for a drivers license.

If you do not pass an exam after three attempts, you must repurchase the online highway sign and traffic law exam.

How to Get a Learner’s Permit

Once you have gathered the necessary documents and completed the required courses, you will be ready to apply for your learner license. You must visit a driver license office and provide proof of the following:

  • U.S. Citizenship
  • Texas Residency
  • Proof of Identity
  • Social Security number
  • Texas Driver Education Certification
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE form) issued by a school, or high school diploma equivalent (GED)

The Texas Driver Handbook provides information regarding required documents, vehicle registration and more related to obtaining your learner license.

Can You Take the Written Driving Test Online in Texas?

Yes, you can take the written driving test online. You can take the permit exam online after completing Module 1 — which includes six hours of education — and satisfy state requirements for the written driver knowledge exam.

Is the Texas Written Driving Test Hard?

The difficulty of the written driving exam depends on how much you prepare. Our drivers ed training programs prepare you to pass your permit exam, as they relay information that appears on the exam. The courses and the exam can be completed 100% online, making it easy for you to work at your own pace. The written driving exam gives you 30 minutes to complete the Highway Signs Examination and up to 30 minutes to complete the Traffic Laws Examination.

The course has 12 modules that contain section timers, requiring students to meet the time requirements before advancing to the next section. You will learn the types of highway signs, rules of the road, distracted driving risks, dangers of driving, inclement weather driving and more to help you prepare for your permit exam and avoid incidents on the road.

How Many Questions Are on the Texas Written Driving Test?

The written driving exam contains 30 questions. The exam is split into two parts: the Highway Signs Examination and the Traffic Laws Examination, each containing 15 multiple-choice questions. Each section is 30 minutes (one hour total), and you’re allowed up to three attempts. The minimum passing score is 70%.

Earn Your Texas Learner License Online

Our 100% online drivers ed courses provide you with options to complete drivers ed training in the comfort of your own home, on your own time. Instead of staying after school or signing up for an in-person class at the DMV, you can complete drivers ed and your permit exam online at your leisure. This makes it easier for you to move at your own pace, and you have the option to either self-teach or have your parent or guardian guide you through the course.