Take Your Texas Drivers License Test Online
Written by Mary Salatino
Texas teens who are ready to begin drivers ed and obtain a learner's permit can benefit from online drivers ed courses. Our program saves you money while allowing you to complete the course at your own pace.
Before teens can earn their license, they need to earn a learner's permit by completing six hours of drivers ed and passing the Texas DPS written test. Our drivers ed courses allow you to complete the written test online and avoid a trip to the DPS.
What Are the Benefits of Taking This Class?
Taking your drivers ed course online saves you money, as well as the hassle of visiting the DPS to take your written test. You can complete the course on your own time, at your own pace and in the comfort of your home. Students opting for this convenient drivers ed class will fulfill Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations (TDLR) requirements by completing 44 hours of instruction and behind-the-wheel practice.
How the Course Works
Our online drivers ed courses teach defensive driving habits and traffic laws to new drivers. You can choose either the Self-Taught Drivers Ed course or the Parent-Taught Drivers Ed course to meet state requirements.
Our online courses are self-paced and prepare you to obtain a drivers license.
New drivers will learn about:
- Dangers of distracted driving
- Handling emergency situations
- Reading and obeying traffic signs
- Driving in inclement weather
- Rules of the road
- Defensive driving techniques for accident avoidance
- And more
Online drivers ed teaches teens the basics of responsible driving without the hassle of visiting a classroom. You can avoid staying after school, taking long and expensive in-person classes and working around your parent or guardian's schedule.
The course makes it simple for you to complete the modules and get behind the wheel. It includes 32 hours of education, and you can take your learner's permit exam online after completing the first six-hour module.
Earning Your Learner's Permit
You have the option to take your learner's permit test online, within the course. The permit exam is made up of two parts: the Highway Sign Examination and the Traffic Laws Examination.
If you fail either examination, you must wait 24 hours before you can take the exam again. You can't continue the rest of the course without passing the exam and providing proof of earning your learner's permit.
If you do not pass both exams after three attempts, you must repurchase the highway sign and traffic law exam.
Getting your Drivers License
You can obtain a drivers license once you meet the following requirements:
- Successfully complete a road test at the DPS
- Have a certificate of completed course training and behind-the-wheel training
- Pass the eye exam
- Possess a learner's permit for at least six months
The Texas Parent-Taught and Self-Taught Drivers Ed courses help students fulfill the requirements for a Class C License. Drivers need this type of license to operate vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 26,001 pounds. You need to take additional courses and training in order to operate vehicles such as a motorcycle.
You will need to make an appointment at the DPS to get your drivers license. Busy times typically include lunch and late afternoon, so choose a different time if you want to avoid crowds and long lines.
Training Can Save You Money
Completing in-person drivers ed can be costly. Our online option is not only more affordable, but also more convenient. You can teach yourself or learn to drive with a parent or guardian. Complete the course on your own time from the comfort of your home — all priced to support your budget.
Satisfy TDLR Requirements
- 7 hours of in-car observation
- 7 hours of in-car instruction
- 30 hours of in-car practice
Our courses are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The classes provide downloadable versions of your permit certificate and course certificate, making it easy to have your documents on hand.