Don't just take our word for it. Our graduates say it all.

Fast, efficient and convenient.

Submitted 15 September 2018 by Delia.

Customer Reviews
» Read more love

With our Parent-Taught Driver Ed (PTDE) course, you and a parent or approved guardian work together to learn safe driving skills and the rules of the road. They'll supervise your practice driving to satisfy the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)-required 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driving. Plus, you could save some serious cash because you won't have to pay for in-person driving school classes. Click here to download the program process at-a-glance

Here's what you'll learn:

  • Traffic Laws
  • Driver Preparation
  • Vehicle Movements
  • Risk Reduction and Management
  • Distractions
  • Alcohol and Other Drugs
  • Adverse Conditions
  • And more

How Does It Work?

Each student and parent is required to request approval to complete the parent-taught driver education by completing a TDLR application. Once you have been approved, the TDLR will send you a Parent Taught Driver Ed Program Guide filled with information and forms. Once your TDLR guide has been received, you will be able to begin the online course material necessary to apply for your first Texas learner's license and driver's license. The Parent Taught Program is an alternative for opting to take drivers education in formal school setting, but also comes with some important roles and responsibilities.

Texas Drivers Permit

Teens 15–17 can apply for their drivers permit after completion of the 1st unit. The student and parent or legal guardian must bring all required forms (which are included in the program guide you receive from the TDLR) to their local Texas Department of Public Safety office.

Take Your Permit Test Online

Students using our parent-taught program will have the option to upgrade and skip the stress and hassle of taking the written test at the DPS. Our DPS-approved online permit exam is a convenient option that allows you to attempt the official permit test online in the comfort of your home. Students who elect to take the permit test online will receive notation on their certificate as proof of completion; students who do not take the test online will be required to complete the exam at the DPS office. If you have any questions about this process, simply contact our live 24/7 support and we will help to answer any questions you may have.

How old do I need to be to take Parent-Taught Driver Education?

If you're 14–17 years old, you're eligible for Parent-Taught Driver Education. You can start the course as early as 14 years of age, but have to wait until you turn 15 to apply for your learner's permit.

How long is the Parent-Taught Driver Education course?

The course is a state-required minimum of 32 hours of online instruction. The first module, which you must complete to get a learner's permit, is six hours long.

Read More...