Online Texas Driver Ed Course Details
The state of Texas requires teens to complete a driver education course prior to applying for their Learner's Permit and Driver's License. TexasDrivingSchool.com offers teens two options for completing this requirement in the comfort of their own home: Parent-Taught Driver Education and Texas Online Drivers Education. Learn more about which course is right for you.
These courses fulfill the driver education requirements for both the Learner's Permit and first Driver's License.
About the Courses
These TexasDrivingSchool.com driver's education courses will teach young drivers the rules of the road, how to read traffic signs, the dangers of distracted driving, how to drive in inclement weather and other driving safety topics.
How it works:
- Courses include 32-hours of classroom instruction, as required by Texas state law.
- The student may begin a course at 14 years of age, but must be 15 years of age to apply for a Learner's Permit.
- Students may log in and out as often as they'd like, course progress is saved.
- Lessons within the courses will feature timers. Student may not proceed to the next lesson until the time requirement for the current lesson has been met.
- Each course has a total of twelve modules, each with an end-of-module quiz. Students in the Parent-Taught Program have an unlimited number of quiz attempts. Students taking Texas Online Driver's Education have three attempts for each quiz. A passing score is 70% or higher.
- Student in the Parent-Taught Program must pass a 20-question final exam with a score of 70% or higher. Texas Online Driver's Education does not have a final exam.
- The student must complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel (BTW) training, 10 of which are at night, to earn a driver's license. The Parent-Taught course is designed so the student's parent/legal guardian will act as the behind-the-wheel instructor. The Texas Online Driver Education course only covers in class training and leaves the option open as to whether a parent/legal guardian or a certified instructor oversees the behind-the-wheel training.
- Once the first module of either course has been completed, the student may apply for a Texas learner's permit.
If you have any questions during the course, customer support is available 24/7.
Parent-Taught Driver Education CourseRegister Now!
Self-Taught Drivers Ed CourseRegister Now!
Driver Education Self-Taught
Driver Education Adult Driver Ed
For Ages 18-24 Defensive Driving
for Driver Safety
- Approved Online Training
- 24/7 Customer Support
- Log On and Off As Needed