TexasDrivingSchool.com

Need help deciding which course to take? The first factor is age. If you are 18–24 years of age, then our Adult Driver Education course is for you since you don't need a learner's permit. The course is voluntary for adults 25 and older but highly recommended for all first time and novice drivers.

If you're between the ages of 14 and 17, you can choose between our Online Driver Ed and our Parent-Taught Driver Ed. Both classes enable you to get your Texas driver's license, but through different methods. Let's compare them:

Parent-Taught Driver Ed (PTDE)

PTDE lets students and parents work together to teach students the importance of driving safely and understanding the rules of the road. It allows a parent or legal guardian to work with the student to satisfy the 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driving required by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).

With PTDE, each student and parent are required to request approval by completing a TDLR application. Once approved, the TDLR will send you a Parent-Taught Driver Ed Packet. Once you receive your TDLR packet, you can begin the online course material necessary to apply for your first Texas learner's permit and driver's license. Teens 15–17 years old can apply for their learner's permit as soon as they complete the first course module. The online learner's permit exam isn't included in the price of the PTDE course, but students can opt to add it when ready, allowing them to skip the DPS.

Online Driver Ed

The Online Driver Ed course is designed for students who want to fulfill the state's learning requirements about safe driving on their own, without the aid of a guardian or parent. Teens can begin their online driver education immediately. Those 15–17 years of age can take the online learner's permit exam after completing the first course module — it's included as part of this course package. No need to test at the DPS!

To satisfy the state-required 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, Texas Online Driver Ed students must either obtain this instruction from a driving school, or opt to add our Behind-the-Wheel course. This course offers an affordable option because it lets a parent or legal guardian train the student instead of opting for training at a traditional driving school, which can be costly.

Parent Taught Online Driver's Ed
TDLR Approved & DPS Accepted Yes Yes
Parent Taught Packet (PTDE Packet) Required Not Required
Course Instructor Parent/Guardian Student
DE-964 Form Delivery Emailed Mailed
DPS Permit Exam Online Optional Included
Completion Certificate Delivery Downloadable Mailed
Classroom Requirement Fulfills Fulfills
Behind-the-Wheel Requirement Fulfills Optional

Deciding between Parent-Taught or Online Driver's Ed can be tough, so we want to help you chose the right course for your family. The two courses cover the same classroom content, but they operate a little differently. We've outlined the basic differences between the two courses below, so take a look a find the right fit for you!

Texas Parent-Taught Driver Education

Texas Parent-Taught Driver's Ed is for 14- to 17-year-olds seeking a driver's license in Texas. Our course is online and mobile friendly, so you can complete it when and where you want!

TDLR-Approved and DPS-Accepted

Texas Parent-Taught Driver's Ed is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and is accepted by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Our license number is PT113, listed under the name American Safety Council.

Parent-Taught Driver Education Packet

Students taking a Parent-Taught Driver Ed Course must complete a Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Packet. PTDE Packets are issued by the TDLR and cost $20.00. We do not receive any money for the packets and cannot update you on the status of a packet.

Course Instructor

In a Parent-Taught Driver Education Course the parent/guardian acts as the course's instructor. The parent/guardian must guide the student through the course, instruct the student during the behind-the-wheel practice (this includes logging hours), and complete the appropriate sections of the DE-964 form.

But won't worry. It's not complicated. The PTDE Packet will guide you through the program and provide explicit instructions. Of course, if you have any questions, you can always ask us!

Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964 Form)

Once you finish the first module, we will email you a copy of your DE-964 form. The box stating that you are required to take the Class-Road Rules and Class C-Signs examinations will be checked. After you take the permit exam online, we will email you an updated copy of your DE-964 form. This time, the box stating that you have passed the exam will be checked. The DPS will check this box for you if you take the permit exam there. Once the box is checked, you can apply for your permit at your local DPS.

DPS Permit Exam

After completing the first 6-hour module, you may take a DPS-approved permit exam online. The Parent-Taught Course can be purchased with the exam or upgraded to include the exam. Alternatively, you can take the permit exam at your local DPS.

Once you have successfully completed our online permit exam, we will email you a copy of your updated Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964 form). You can use this emailed certificate to apply for a permit at your local DPS.

Completion Certificate

You will be able to download your certificate of completion after completing the course. Further instructions for how to finalize your completion as the parent instructor will be included in your parent-taught packet from the TDLR.

Classroom Requirement

The State of Texas requires all 14- to 17-year-olds to complete 32-hours of classroom education. Our Parent-Taught Driver Education Course satisfies this requirement. Since the state sets the time requirements, each section of the course has a timer. You cannot move forward in the course until the timer runs to zero, but you can take longer on a section if you need to.

Behind-The-Wheel Requirement

Texas requires students to complete 44-hours of behind-the-wheel training, and our Parent-Taught Driver Education Course satisfies this requirement.

You must complete 14-hours of instructional practice, which is detailed in your PTDE packet. Additionally, you must complete 30-hours of practice with a licensed driver over the age of 21. Ten of these hours must be at night.

These hours are also clocked within the course.

Texas Online Driver Education

Texas Online Driver's Ed is for 14- to 17-year-olds seeking a driver's license in Texas. Our course is online and mobile friendly, and you can complete the course on any device whenever you have time!

TDLR-Approved and DPS-Accepted

Texas Online Driver's Ed is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and accepted by Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), course #3518.

Parent-Taught Driver Education Packet

Texas Online Driver Education does not require at Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Packet. You can sign up for the course and begin it immediately.

Course Instructor

Texas Online Driver Education is a student-initiated course. You can work through the course on your own and do not need a parent/guardian or instructor to be present.

Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964 Form)

Your DE-964 form will be mailed to you after you have completed the first module and passed the permit exam. Once this form has arrived, you can apply for your permit at your local DPS.

DPS Permit Exam

A DPS-approved online permit exam is included in Texas Online Driver Education. You may take it after completing the first module. Once you've passed the exam and completed the first module, we will mail your DE-964 form to you. This form is used to apply for your permit at the DPS.

Completion Certificate

After you have completed the course, you will need to decide whether to transfer your classroom hours to a licensed driving instructor or to an approved parent-taught instructor. Once your Credit Transfer Information is entered, we will send an updated copy of your DE-964 form to the transfer instructor. You cannot graduate the course without filling out this information.

Classroom Requirement

The State of Texas requires all teens between the ages of 14-17 to complete 32-hours of classroom education. Texas Online Driver's Ed satisfies this requirement. Since the state sets the time requirements, each section in the course has a timer. You cannot move forward in the course until the timer runs to zero, but you can take longer on a section if you need to.

Behind-The-Wheel Requirement

Texas requires students to complete 44-hours of behind-the-wheel practice. You must complete 14-hours of instructional practice and an additional 30-hours of practice with a licensed driver over the age of 21. Ten of these hours must be driven at night.

Texas Online Driver's Ed does not satisfy this requirement. To meet this requirement, you may either take lessons at a driving school OR add on our Behind-the-Wheel course. This course offers an affordable option because it lets a parent or legal guardian train the student instead of taking lessons at a traditional driving school, which can be costly.

Adult Drivers Education

If you are between the ages of 18 and 24, then you complete a 6-hour Adult Driver Education Course. Since you are over 17-years old, you do not need a permit and can take the driving exam without one.