TexasDrivingSchool.com

How to Apply for Your Texas Driver's License

Ready to go to your local Department of Public Safety (DPS) to get your driver's license? Below you'll find a list of the documents and information you'll need, age-specific requirements, and DPS testing information.

What You'll Need to Bring

In addition to completing an application at the DPS, you will need to provide:

  • Your full name, address, mailing address (if different than physical residential address), birthdate, and place of birth
  • Identification documents, such as a passport or military I.D., or other accepted documents as listed by the DPS
  • A Social Security card or other evidence of a Social Security number
  • Evidence of financial responsibility, showing you have proper insurance on any vehicle in your name, or a statement that you do not own a vehicle that would require insurance
  • A copy of the registration for any vehicle owned, or a receipt for registration issued by the court tax assessor-collector
  • A copy of your certificate of completion of an approved Driver Education course if you are between the ages of 18 and 24
  • Answers to medical questions on the application that relate to your ability to drive safely
  • Thumbprints
  • A physical description of yourself
  • The name of the county where you currently legally reside and your current U.S. citizenship status
  • Money for the application and testing fees
  • If you have an out-of-state driver's license, you must bring it to turn in to the DPS.

Driver Education Age Requirements

If you are under the age of 25, you must successfully complete an approved Driver Education course, such as our online adult driver ed course. Once you successfully complete the course, you'll receive a certificate of completion to bring with you when you apply for your license.

This course is voluntary for adults 25 and older but highly recommended for all first time and novice drivers. Since you can complete it at your own pace and all material is online, it provides easy access to essential driving topics such as Texas traffic laws, driving in adverse conditions, car safety features, motor vehicle basics, accident avoidance, high-speed environments, road rules and much more.

Driving Tests

To obtain a Texas driver's license, you must pass three tests.

Test 1 — The Knowledge Test

Also known as the Written Test, this test measures knowledge of the rules of the road as laid out in the driver's handbook. Successfully completing a driver education course exempts you from this test.

Test 2 — The Vision Test

A basic vision test will be performed at the DPS office. You may attempt to pass the vision test without corrective lenses if you wear them normally, but you may be told they are necessary for you to drive if you need them to pass the vision test. If that is the case, you will not be allowed to legally drive without corrective lenses.

Test 3 — The Driving Test

The final part of your driver's license application is the driving test, where you will drive your vehicle with a customer service representative from DPS in the passenger seat. Make sure your car has passed a Texas inspection and is legal. The CSR will give you instructions to follow. See our page explaining the details of the driving test for more information.

If you pass the driving test, you will be given your Texas driver's license.

$$22.00$22.00

Parent-Taught Driver Education Course

Register Now!
$$22.00

Adult Driver Education Course

Register Now!
Parent-Taught
Driver Education
Self-Taught
Driver Education
Adult Driver Ed
For Ages 18-24
Defensive Driving
for Driver Safety
American Safety Council logo
  • Approved Online Training
  • 24/7 Customer Support
  • Log On and Off As Needed

Connect with Us

Like Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Connect with Us on LinkedIn Follow us on G+