McKinney Defensive Driving and Ticket Dismissal
If you recently received a ticket in McKinney, Texas, which is located in Collin County, then you've come to the right place. We here to detail your options out and save you the stress and time it would take to research this citation.
First, it's important to understand that, as a citizen, you have the right to plead not guilty and to a trial by jury. Should you chose this option, you must contest your ticket in court.
But, if you earned this citation, you can plead guilty or no contest. If you've pleaded guilty, there are two paths to take. In the first, you pay the fee and points are added to your license. This isn't a good thing, frankly, because having points on your license will likely increase your car insurance premiums. Let's not mention the fact if you receive six points on your Texas driver's license it will get suspended.
Don't panic, you have a second path: plead guilty, pay the fine, and take a Texas driving safety course, also called a Texas defensive driving course. Taking a defensive driving course will prevent points from being added to your license and dismiss your citation.
In order to qualify for the driving safety course option, you must do the following:
- Plead guilty or no contest
- Have a valid Texas driver's license
- Have proof of financial responsibility (car insurance) with you listed as the driver
- Pay the citation fee
You will be ineligible for the Texas defensive driving course if:
- You were cited for speeding over 25 mph
- You were cited in a construction zone
- You were cited for passing a school bus
- You were cited for leaving the scene of an accident
- You have a commercial driver's license (CDL)
- Within the last 12 months you have taken a Texas driving safety course to dismiss a ticket
If you qualify for a Texas defensive driving course, within 20 days of receiving your ticket you must bring in person or send by mail the following items to the court: proof of your driver's license and financial responsibility and the citation fee. Once the court grants you permission to take the Texas driving safety course, you have 90 days to select and complete a course.
After you've completed the course, you must bring a certificate of completion and a copy of your Texas driving record to the courtâ€”open Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm, and until 7:00pm on Thursday)â€”, after which your ticket will be dismissed.
Our state-approved course is 100% online, provides an instantly-downloadable certificate of completion, and will dismiss your ticket. Get started today!
Defensive Driving CourseRegister Now!
Available in Spanish
Driver Education Adult Driver Ed
For Ages 18-24 Defensive Driving
for Driver Safety
Popular Texas Cities
- Select City
- Amarillo Defensive Driving
- Arlington Defensive Driving
- Austin Defensive Driving
- Brownsville Defensive Driving
- Corpus Christi Defensive Driving
- Dallas Defensive Driving
- Denton Defensive Driving
- El Paso Defensive Driving
- Frisco Defensive Driving
- Fort Worth Defensive Driving
- Garland Defensive Driving
- Houston Defensive Driving
- Irving Defensive Driving
- Killeen Defensive Driving
- Laredo Defensive Driving
- Lubbock Defensive Driving
- McKinney Defensive Driving
- Mesquite Defensive Driving
- Midland Defensive Driving
- Pasadena Defensive Driving
- Plano Defensive Driving
- San Antonio Defensive Driving
- Waco Defensive Driving
- Approved Online Training
- 24/7 Customer Support
- Log On and Off As Needed