Texas Driving School

Lubbock County Ticket Dismissal and Defensive Driving Requirements

If you received a ticket in Lubbock County, which includes cities like Slaton, Idalou, Buffalo Spring, Shallowater, Wolfforth, Lubbock, then you have a few options in how you to address the ticket. First, you must inform the court of which action you will take within 12 days of receiving your ticket. You may:

  • Pay the ticket online
  • Pay the ticket at the court
  • Plead not guilty and set the ticket to trial
  • Write the City Prosecutor an explanation of your circumstances (only valid for parking citations)

Before choosing a payment method, you should note that you may not take a defensive driving course and keep points from being assessed on your license if you pay online. Taking a state-approved Texas defensive driving course will prevent your insurance from rising and keep your driver record clean.

To take a defensive driving course you must first see if you are eligible. To take a driving course, you must request it in person at the court or receive permission in writing.

To pay in person, you must bring your ticket and payment (cash, check, money order, or credit card) to the Municipal court. You must have a valid driver's license or photo ID.

To pay through mail, you may send a check, cashier's check, or money order for the fines amount via first class mail to your Court's address.

Click here to pay online. Remember, you will not be able to take a defensive driving course, which can dismiss you pending citation, if you choose this option.

If you would like to take TDLR-approved Texas defensive driving course, you can start our 100% online course today!

$$25.00
Register Now!

» Learn More