Texas Driving School

Tarrant County Defensive Driving

Each county in Texas has different requirements when it comes to ticket dismissal. If you received a traffic ticket in Tarrant County, whether in Fort Worth, Arlington, or North Richland Hills, it is possible that you can dismiss your traffic ticket and remove the points from your license, which will help keep your auto insurance premiums down.

You may not be eligible to dismiss your ticket in Fort Worth through defensive driving for the following reasons:

  • You have already taken defensive driving in the last 12 months
  • You were speeding more than 25 mph over the speed limit
  • You hold a Texas commercial driver's license

Fort Worth Fine Schedule

In Fort Worth, the fine schedule for speeding is dependent on how fast you were going. The base fine is $102.10 and an additional $8 is added for each mile over the speed limit you were travelling. This does not include the court cost of $72.10.

Speeding in a school zone is an even more serious offense with the base fine starting at $127.10, an additional $8 per mile over the speed limit, and a $97.10 court cost.

Speeding in a construction zone with workers present carries the steepest fines, with a base fine of $102.10, an additional $16 per mile over the speed limit, and a $72.10 court cost.

In order to use our online defensive driving course to dismiss your traffic ticket, you must first notify the Tarrant county court (or the court of the county where you received the ticket) that you elect to take a driving safety course.

In the city of Fort Worth, you can pay your fine online as well as check to see if you are eligible to take defensive driving here: http://fortworthtexas.gov/municipalcourt/citations/. You must enter a plea of "no content" or "guilty" in order to take the course, as well as pay any associated fines.

As part of the Texas traffic ticket dismissal process, you will also need to submit your driving record to the Tarrant County court. You can order your Texas type 3A Certified Driving Record when you sign up for the course, or you can purchase it separately at any time.

$$25.00
Register Now!

» Learn More