Texas Driving School

Defensive Driving Questions

Is this online driving safety course approved by the state of Texas?

Yes. This defensive driving course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to remove points off your license, dismiss your traffic ticket and get an insurance reduction.

How do I know if I am eligible to take online defensive driving?

This course is eligible for ticket dismissal benefits pursuant to Texas court requirements. The general requirements for ticket dismissal in the state of Texas are as follows:

  • Possess a valid non-commercial Texas driver license or permit
  • Have not dismissed a traffic ticket within the past 12 months
  • Have admitted guilt or sign a statement that you do not contest the citation
  • If your ticket was for speeding, it must indicate that the violation was not more than 25 miles-per-hour over the posted limit

Can I get an insurance discount with this defensive driving course?

Yes. Many insurance companies will provide a discount (usually between 1-10%) for three years on the liability portion of your auto insurance premiums if you provide proof of course completion. The amount (if any) of the discount, however, is strictly at the discretion of the insurance company.

How long does the online defensive driving course take?

This defensive driving course is a total of 6 hours.

Do I have to take the course in one sitting?

No, one of the many benefits of taking this course online are that once you have registered, you can log in and out of the course as many times as you wish, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This online format allows you to create the schedule you want with the only restriction being that you must successfully complete the course within 90 days from the time you registered.

When will I get my certificate?

Once you have successfully completed the course, you simply choose the delivery method that best suits your needs. You can have your certificate sent via U.S. first class mail, expedited overnight or second day.

Do I need a copy of my Texas driving record?

If you are taking this course to have your traffic ticket dismissed you will need a copy of your certified driving record. We provide you with the option of ordering a certified copy standalone, discounted with defensive driving or at the end of the course, which will be delivered to the email address you provide.

What happens if I do not complete the defensive driving course within 90 days?

Depending on your county, if you do not submit a certificate of completion for the course within 90 days you may be issued a court summons, assessed additional fines, or both. Contact the court in the county where you received your ticket to determine next steps if you were unable to complete the course in 90 days. If you do not follow up with the court, a warrant for your arrest may be issued.

We offer certificate expedite options when you purchase the course or upon course completion to help you comply with the 90 day deadline.

Is there audio narration?

For those who do better by listening and learning, we offer an audio narration upgrade for just $4.95. Even if you have already started the course and then decide the audio narration would be helpful for you, you can upgrade at any time and pick up where you left off in the course with audio narration.

What if I have questions while taking the course?

If you have any questions or issues while taking the course, our customer service team is here to help 24/7. Call 1-877-463-2477 any time, any day.

How can I leave a review or resolve a complaint?

We have created a special site for our users to review their course, share their course experience or alert us to issues that might require extra support. Visit http://reviews.texasdrivingschool.com to leave your review, share a complaint or explain your problem; please make sure to leave your e-mail address if you need a response from our Quality Assurance team.