Texas Driving School

Denton County Ticket Dismissal and Defensive Driving Requirements

If you found your way to this page, you likely received a ticket in Denton County, Texas, which includes Denton, Coppell, Aubrey, Sanger, and other cities. If that's the case, here are some options you have.

First, you can plead not guilty and go to court to contest your ticket. Second, you may plead guilty and pay for the fine, having points assessed to your license. Third, you may plead guilty and pay the fine, but, instead of having points added to your Texas driving record, you elect to take and complete a Texas defensive driving course. Fees are payable through cashier check, money order, or online through a credit card.

In order to take a Texas defensive driving course, you must first qualify for it. If you were cited for the following offense, you will not qualify:

  • Passing a school bus
  • Flee or attempting to elude a police officer
  • Accident involving damage to another vehicle
  • Speeding 25 mph over the post limit
  • Have taken a defensive driving course within the past 12 months

To take the course, you must first request this option in person at the Court or send a written request by mail. Do not take the course until you receive permission from the Court.

You can fill out the driver safety request form here, which you must complete and send to or bring with you to Court in order to take a Texas defensive driving course. You also need to provide a copy of a valid Texas driver's license and proof of financial responsibility (valid car insurance during the time of the citation).

Our state-approved Texas defensive driving course is available 100% online and built to make this process as painless as possible. Start today!

$$25.00
Register Now!

» Learn More