Texas Driving School

Austin & Travis County Defensive Driving

If you have received a traffic ticket in Austin, Pflugerville, Wells Branch or elsewhere in Travis County it is possible that a Driving Safety Course (DSC) or a Motorcycle Operators Training Course (MOTC) can get your Texas traffic ticket dismissed. These courses are commonly referred to in Texas as Defensive Driving.

If you wish to take the DSC or MOTC course to dismiss your ticket, you will need to let a Travis County Court know you are electing to take a defensive driving course before the appearance date on your citation.

The only types of tickets in Travis County that can be dismissed by a defensive driving course are moving violations. Moving violations are not eligible for dismissal if they were given under any of these circumstances:

  • A construction zone with workers present
  • Passing a school bus
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • No auto insurance
  • Driving more than 25mph over the speed limit
  • You hold a commercial driver's license
  • You do not hold a Texas driver's license

If you are a juvenile (under 18 years old), you must first appear in a Travis County court and be approved to sign up for a driving safety course.

In some cases, Travis County courts allow for dismissal of a No Seatbelt ticket by taking a defensive driving course as well.

No matter where in Travis County you were given a ticket, from Lakeway to Round Rock, Texas Driving School's Online Texas Defensive Driving course can help get your eligible ticket dismissed. We also offer Texas driving records, which are required by all Texas courts to dismiss your ticket.

$$25.00
Register Now!

» Learn More